Harry Potter Awesome-ness

So, me, Adam, and Staci(one of The Errant Easel partners! Sara couldn’t make it due to scheduling conflicts…but we missed her dearly! And she’s seeing the movie tonight) went to Potter Watch last night…what is Potter Watch you might ask??? Well, it was three movies: Harry Potter and the Scorcerers Stone, then Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1, THEN a midnight showing of the final Harry Potter movie….Deathly Hallows part 2!!! It was a night of Harry Potter epic-ness…and I loved it!!

So! I am not going to discuss the movie…I will not ruin the ending for those who have not read the last book and is looking forward to seeing what happens. I want to talk about the knitted wear mostly….since knitting IS my latest obsession!
Of course the men of Harry Potter always wear sophisticated knitted sweaters, (and home made sweaters made with love from Misses Weasley!) and in the scorcerers stone, I noticed more the cabled sweaters the boys wore (of course the first time I watched the movie, I wasn’t a knitter, so I didn’t care…I know, blasphemy!) and I was really inspired by them! And of course Hermione had a beautiful fair isle sweater at the end when they went through all the different tasks to get to the room where the scorcers stone was hidden…so look out for that! Of course along with their unique garments, everyone sported their knitted scarves with house colors!!

Hermione was rocking some awesome knit wear in the deathly Hallows Pt. 1 I must say! I absolutely love the grey fair Isle hoodie she wears while it is winter and they are traveling….that is def one I am going to find on revelry! And she had an awesome pair of knitted fingerless mitts…may be another project I pick up!

Oh! And let’s not forget the amazing cardigan Neville Longbottom is wearing in deathly Hallows Pt.2! Neville is always known to be wearing a knitted cardigan, but I absolutely love this cardigan! Its classic fair isle, and sophisticated and more adult, which is fitting for the role he plays in the last movie…I think if Adam is lucky…he may get his own!
I loved the last movie, and all the movies are so artistic and beautiful, and they are just so much fun! So, in all, I feel that the knitted clothing has an important role in the Harry Potter films and books. It shows warmth and love and it’s something to always remind you of home and family, which is always important!…especially when you’re on a world win adventure to save the world!!

Everyone going to see the movie, enjoy it, and look out for all the art and awesome knitted wear!

20110715-125841.jpg

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cryptotox
    Jul 16, 2011 @ 03:19:01

    D3Z, since we’ve been discussing the ubiquity of knitted fabrics in the Harry Potter movies, I even found myself noticing the knit-wear in the trailers tonight. I would like to direct your attention to the lovely scarf Watson is wearing in the Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows trailer. It appears to be a beautifully striped (I assume) wool ribbed scarf. I also heart the simplicity of the goggles but that is neither here nor there.

    Reply

    • D3Z
      Jul 16, 2011 @ 03:43:31

      Yes!! Absolutely! Looks like traditional knitted scarfs are popular again…may have to put that on my list of things to make for gifts! And may i say, that movie looks like it’s going to be AMAZING!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

