Linoleum Printmaking – From the Beginning

Oohhhhh.....Aahhhhhhh....

For my next project, I had every intention of working on a painting. I’ve been working on a lot of paintings lately, and it just seemed right to continue on this same course of action. Still, since working on this blog, I’ve had so many ideas and so many things I’ve wanted to do that it just seems right to go back to what I enjoy doing most: printmaking!

Printmaking incorporates the things I like about drawing and painting: line work and color theory. I freely admit, my line work can always use work and my color theory (use of color in an artwork) is sometimes screwy, but I love it! Every time I draw or add color to a work, I learn something new that I can share with others (mainly my students).

While a lot of artists use wood, copper plates, or stone for their prints, I prefer linoleum. It’s affordable, water-soluble inks can work with it, and it can be used in a classroom. Those were the criteria I used when I first chose this medium (what the artwork is created with/from) as a Master’s student at Morehead State University. I was first introduced to printmaking though at the University of Kentucky where I took a woodcut class taught by Derrick Riley (great instructor, fantastic artist!). The same skills are used in both, but I found the linoleum to be easier to work with and just more fun over all.

For this next project, I wanted to go through step by step in my process for those of you interested in creating your own prints. I will be using golden linoleum which is a little easier to carve than battleship linoleum – typically used in a classroom because its cheaper, a Speedball lino cutter, and water-soluble inks. Before any of the tools can be used though, I have to decide on a subject. I will be using the characters shown above from my earlier painting sketches (seen in previous blogs) and I’ve set them watching fireworks. I still haven’t decided whether or not to do this as a reduction print, but I’ll decide by the next time I post.

Linoleum (prior to re-sizing) and Speedball cutter w/ gouges

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D3Z
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 23:06:08

    I think the characters you have created will translate well in Lino print! It will give them a very unique twist! This is exciting! Go print making!

    Reply

  2. cryptotox
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 12:55:00

    I’m really excited to see this process, Staci! I love that you are documenting it step by step and I can’t wait to see it unfold 😀

    Reply

    • D3Z
      Jul 21, 2011 @ 12:24:06

      Haha! I think it helped out creative juices flow!! I think the about us page is going to be awesome! Good thing Adam came to keep us on task though!;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

