Peggle, why are you so much fun?!

As you are aware, I am currently working on a reduction print.  Between waiting on ink to dry on both the paper and the linoleum itself, I end up having some spare time to fill.  Yes, I could be preparing for the upcoming school year and the lessons I want to teach – and I do somewhat – but I usually find myself reading a book or enjoying the game Peggle on my PS3.

Well, I finished yet another book today (Thud! by Terry Pratchett, which was AWESOME) and I found myself drawn to Peggle for some mindless enjoyment.  For those of you who don’t know, I tend to get stressed out and over think things quite a bit.  Peggle is a nice way for me to just sit back, relax, listen to some interesting music, and look at some weird background art.

The game of Peggle is very simple: you start off with 10 shots, shoot the ball, hit the orange pegs, get points, win stage….wash, rinse, and repeat.  After you go through 40 levels, you unlock all the masters (with names like Bjorn the Unicorn and Master Hu – an owl, what’s not to enjoy right?!), and can play the Master’s Challenge levels.  Beyond that, there are various challenges that one can complete that involve scoring the most points, getting rid of the orange pegs with a specific number of shots, etc.

What keeps bringing me back to this game?  Like I said, it’s really simple, the music repeats, and when you do hit all the orange pegs, you get “Extreme Fever” and Ode to Joy starts blaring out of the TV.  That’s it, over and over again the same thing.  So why keep coming back to it?  Doesn’t it get old?  Not for me it doesn’t!

Peggle started off as a game my brother shared with me a little over a month ago when I was visiting home.  We played it until close to 2am, even though he had to go to work the next day (we did this all week!).  It was always, “one more time,” because over time, one realizes it’s not really just that simple.  You have to start thinking about angles and how to shoot the ball to hit the peg that just had to be out of your line of sight.  You have to decide which master is the best to use for this level.  It starts to become a thinking man’s game more than just shooting a ball and hoping.

Now, is it a great brain teaser?  No, it’s not.  It IS a lot of fun to play both alone or with someone..or a crowd!  It’s really just an addictive game that really doesn’t cause anyone to get THAT angry.  I like that, because and I freely admit this, I’m the world’s worst when it comes to getting aggravated at a game.

That’s being said, and since I’m now waiting for the print, I’m off to play the add-on to Peggle, Peggle Nights.  Same characters, new levels, new background art – which, by the way, is a lot of fun to look at!

Have a great evening and don’t let everything get too overwhelming.  Sometimes we all need a good book, a good laugh, or just a good time.

Just an example of a level - looks fun right!

Leave a Reply

