Living Healthy!

Fall is here, and although I have plenty of knitting things to talk about (like some new patterns I have made) I decided to change things up and talk about my healthy habits! (gotta keep you on your toes!)
For the past few years me and my mother dear have been big advocates of organic/natural living, and making sure you have plenty of vitamins! Although it is not always easy (or cheap) to buy organic, I do like to try and make everything by hand from scratch, so I know what’s going down my gullet! I think (unless a whole mess of people are lying to me!) I have created some great healthy recipes that you would never know where an alternative to the real thing (for example: lasagna without the pasta, which I think I have finally perfected!) I love to cook, so it doesn’t bother me to experiment and I enjoy the challenge. And I made a promise to Adam that if we are going to eat healthier, it’s gotta taste good!
More recently I have started going a more natural route to my daily hygiene routine (when you say “hygiene” it always sound too personal doesn’t it?) mostly when it comes to my face! I have struggled with acne problems my whole adult life, and I have found some pretty amazing alternatives to harsh face washes. Here they are:

Honey: apparently honey isn’t as good for you to eat as it is for your face! You can wash your face with honey, everyday, twice a day. It surprisingly doesn’t feel sticky when it’s wet, and it makes your skin look radiant! You can also mix oatmeal (cooked and cooled) and honey for a mask! Organic honey is the best, the light colored kind that’s a bit more thicker, but I have a honey bear chillin in the shower right now, and it was a mean $2.50…and it still works great!

Lemons: lemons are great for clearing up blemishes and it also makes your skin feel extraordinarily soft! Just squeeze some lemon on your hand (or directly on your face if you feel brave) and spread over blemishes, or just all over your skin. Rinse with warm water!

Chick pea flour + milk= the best face mask you have ever used in your life! I like to make mine a little thick, and once it dries your face feels so tight you can’t move your lips! It take some patience and warm water to get it off, but this mask is good for small scarring, and acne, and keeping healthy skin. Experiment with different ratios of milk and flour to find what suits you best, you can’t go wrong no matter what!

Witch hazel: you can find this in any drug store, most super markets have it. It’s great for quite a few things, I originally got witch hazel after I got my first tattoo, the artist (and good friend X David Williams) told me it was good for the itch when it started to heel. Well after getting it I found out it does wonderful things for your skin! Especially for your face, put some of this on a cotton ball and swipe over your face after you have washed it (with honey of course;))

Okay, that’s all the secrets I have for you for now! Tomorrow I am making lasagna. Adam’s brother David is coming over and I heard he loves pasta! He’s in town doing some work and I’m going to make a half and half lasagna (half made with pasta half without) just so I don’t scare him away from ever eating at my house again! But I will tempt him to try it…and I will post the recipe and his review tomorrow!! I hope he loves it!

I hope everyone tries some of these things, even without problematic skin, you can still use this stuff! Your Skin will just be that much awesome-er!!

Leave a Reply

