Lasagna…with no pasta!

20111002-203704.jpg

So, I know everyone has been so excited about this recipe! At least that’s what I am telling myself, that there are people chomping at the bit because I have not posted it yet! Well, here it is! If you absolutely have to have pasta…go ahead, I won’t tell, but I highly recommend you try it my way!

SERVES ABOUT 8-10

INGREDIENTS:

2 LBS GROUND TURKEY (OR BEEF…WHATEVER YOUR POISON IS)

3 TBS OLIVE OIL

1 ONION

1 GREEN BELL PEPPER (IF YOU CUT THEM AND FREEZE THEM IN A GALLON ZIP BAG, IT SAVES A LOT OF TIME, JUST BREAK WHAT YOU NEED…KAY LYNCH TAUGHT ME THIS AND SAVED MY LIFE!)

HAND FULL OF MUSHROOMS

3 TBS GARLIC (I LIKE TO GET THE SQUEEZE BOTTLE OF GARLIC JUST TO SAVE TIME)

1 SQUASH (WHEN IT’S IN SEASON)

1ZUCCINI (ALSO WHEN IT’S IN SEASON…CHEAPER THAT A WAY)

1 RUTABEGA

TOMATO SAUCE (1 CAN)

TOMATO PASTE (2 CANS OR A BIG CAN)

2 TBS SUGAR

1 EGG

1 CONTAINER COTTAGE CHEESE

1-2 BAGS OF SHREDDED CHEESE DEPENDING ON HOW CHEESY YOU LIKE IT!

LARGE PAN (WHATEVER YOU NORMALLY USE FOR LASAGNA, I USE A PAMPERED CHEF PAN JUST BECAUSE IT’S THE BIGGEST I HAVE)

COOKING SPRAY (FOR PAN)

SEASONING I USE:

SEA SALT

PEPPER

CIANNE

OREGANO

ANY ITALIAN SEASONINGS I HAVE ON HAND

THYME

WORCESTERSHIRE

OR, I MAKE UP SOME OF EMERALD’S BAYOU BLAST!! scroll down on the page to find it…;)

1. peel and thinly slice your rutabaga….this is hard! I recommend cutting it in half, and using a very sharp very large knife, and be very very careful! I would cut them about a quarter inch if you can…now that I am thinking about it, my mandolin slicer would prolly have cut this with no problems!

2. fill up a pot with water, add salt and rutabaga…this is your pasta! you will cook it until it is tender, just like you would regular pasta

3. while you’re waiting on your rutabaga, saute your veggies! if you are using ground beef, I would brown and drain it first, then add your veggies…

4. add your ground turkey! brown and season everything as you go!

5. add tomato paste, and mix good

6. add tomato sauce, fill one of the cans with water and add if the mix seems too thick. add your sugar at this point.

let simmer for a few minutes

7. check the rutabaga, if tender, drain and let cool

8. mix egg with cottage cheese

TIME TO LAYER!!

SET THE OVEN TO 350F SPRAY YOUR PAN!

I layer it like this:

rutabaga

sauce

cottage cheese

cheese!

……keep layering!!

I like to end my layering with a heaping layer of cheese!

pop that puppy in the oven and let cook until it gets nice and bubbly!!

pull it out, and eat before it’s cool so it’s a soupy mess and burns your mouth!

….at least that’s what we do at my hizouse!

it’s about 400 calories of pure deliciousness! For those keeping count! If you want to feel a little guilty…make some garlic bread! hot sauce taste great on lasagna, and I recommend Louisiana…pronounce WEEZIANNA!

I made it half and half with pasta on one half…David did not try the non-pasta half, but he did say he liked it…and that he didn’t eat just anybody’s lasagna! So it was a definite win on Thursday night!! I hope everyone enjoys this dish as much as I do!!

*If anyone has any suggestions for my recipe let me know!! comment please! I love changing up my recipes and making them tastier!

20111002-203610.jpg

20111002-203625.jpg

20111002-203633.jpg

20111002-203643.jpg

20111002-203651.jpg

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. stacigilliam
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 19:31:10

    This recipe seems spectacular Dez! I can’t wait to try it and thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

