After nearly 3 years…..I think

Aries and Highwind in progressI start posting and then life gets crazy – yet here I am, trying it again.  Yes, my attempts to date Jason Segel have fallen upon deaf ears, but that doesn’t mean the last month hasn’t been productive.  I’m on week 4 of p90x and feel better and look a little better (if I say so myself) and the last nine weeks of school will begin this week.  I’ve finished a print for my basketball team and walked into becoming an assistant on a girl’s softball team.  See – I haven’t just been watching Castle….all the time….hey, Nathan Fillion has been awesome since Firefly…don’t judge me!

Anyhoo – what brings me to the Easel this evening.  Well, aside from getting a second snow day, I have finally finished a painting a friend asked me to start nearly 3 years ago.

A little back story.  I love creating things for my friends, mainly little cartoons of them doing ridiculous things.  Nearly 3 years ago, a friend asked me to paint Aries and the Highwind from Final Fantasy 7.  Of course I said I would, but then I quickly just stopped working on it.  I just couldn’t get into the groove with it and I kinda need to be in a groove.  I was also working on my Graduate show for my Master’s Degree and was otherwise occupied.  Needless to say, the canvas was drawn upon and promptly put in the office.

Jp’s birthday is coming up so I thought I’d try to finish the painting that was – and I have….almost.  There are a few touch ups needed, a few things added, but I’m pretty happy with it.  This is what I enjoy: commissioned work.  Technically, I wasn’t commissioned in this case – but I like requests.  Soon I hope to show you the Stevie Ray Vaughn I’m working on for Ramin – but that’s for another day.

Almost there....

Now, why I am writing about a gift for my friend when I’m going to present it to him this weekend?  First, I don’t think he really reads my blog that often.  If he does, the work isn’t complete yet so there is still a bit of surprise.  More importantly, I wanted him to know that I didn’t forget about him or his request.  It’s been awhile, but it’s finally here.

It doesn’t hurt to be reminded that we aren’t forgotten.

Happy Birthday Jp!

Update: Finished Painting!  Like I said, I don’t think he reads this blog that often AND it looks a little different in person.

Final product...maybe?

 

Leave a Reply

