Let’s just say I’m on a roll

It is a little strange for me to go from 0 output to, what, four posts in two days?  Well, three new posts, one update, but that’s neither here nor there.

This is another short post – similar to my bro’s ticket display painting (which, Bobby, if you are reading this, I need to know the size of the ticket).  The painting I’m working on (again) is for my other brother, Ramin.  Yes, you could say Ramin is my “brother from another mother”…and father…but I claim him, and love him, and that’s all that matters.  To get really in-depth, we could say that the brother that I claim as a brother is my brother – but that might be taking this discussion too far away from the point (in fact, yes, I did go too far).

Handsome fella!

Ramin spent Christmas with us this past year and it was a glorious time.  Finally, after several years I could finally give him the Harry Potter painting I had been meaning to send.  It made my day to see that he actually liked it.  He liked it so much, in fact, that he asked me to work on a painting for his new music room!  The subject matter he wanted was Stevie Ray Vaughn.

Like SRV, Ramin is a gifted musician and I really don’t want to let him down.  What I’m posting this evening is the painted start to his painting which I hope he’ll like.

For this piece, I didn’t just want to copy an image of SRV, but rather what I think of when I hear his music.  To go a step beyond, I want to incorporate what I think about Ramin’s music, and all the music that has been played together at my parent’s house.  My dad, for those of you not in the “know,” is pretty much the Pied Piper of rock in our community in the sense that all kids who like music, come to our house and leave loving it.  Yeah, he’s not the Pied Piper in the tragic sense – try to keep it positive kids!

Well….here’s my work so far:

 

Just the start...but I think it's a good one

UPDATE:  New Images, Closer to COMPLETE!

Full canvas

Detail of guitar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SRV detail

field detail

Leave a Reply

