Timey Wimey Cross-Stitch

ART – it still happens for me….PROMISE!

I have had a hard time completing personal projects as of late.  Drawings, paintings, prints – I just can’t get my head around them.  I have a few things on the burner that I want to get finished, but I just can’t find the heart to do it.  Maybe it has something to do with my own restlessness in life.  Job security is not a luxury I have (first year teacher in a new district) and I’m just everywhere mentally (lesson plans, house work, house improvements, adulthood slapping me in the face repeatedly, you know…the normal).  My friends have tried to get me to knit or crochet – which I enjoy doing – but I don’t practice like I should if I want to get better.  Then it hit me: embroidery!

I really enjoyed this Valentine’s Art class I took at Morehead one weekend hosted by Jennifer Reis (check out her work at http://jenniferareis.com/) .

Jennifer Reis - amazing artist and more of an inspiration than she realizes

Jennifer Reis – amazing artist and more of an inspiration than she realizes

She is an extremely talented person who works in mixed media – particularly fiber.  Part of that class involved using embroidery thread to add designs to the Valentines we were creating.  I loved that particular project, purchased her book, and promptly went to work on something else.  Probably a painting….yeah…..

Fast forward to this month, January, 2013

While walking around our only local store with art supplies (WalMart….something I hope to someday change), looking for a loom for one of my kiddos at school, I saw an embroidery hoop and decided today is the day!  I’m making this happen!  So, I bought the hoop, the fabric, a bag of thread, and left with the intentions of starting a new project or two.

Let me catch you up on what has been happening with this new medium of mine.  Last week, I was at the church my family attends.  When I say family, I mean cousins, aunts, uncles, grandmother – family.  I was sitting with my cousin Max who is 10 and said something to a friend about leaving over spring break to travel to Southern cities unseen (alone as a friend suggested to me long ago).  All Max heard was the word “leaving” and immediately turned to me and said, “You aren’t leaving again are you? Please don’t go away again.”   At can’t explain how I felt at hearing this.  Part of the reason I wanted to come back home when I left Morehead was that I was missing out on family time which is very important to me.  So, I found my muse in my 10-year-old cousin actually liking my company (which is an amazing feeling).

Max, his sister Maddie, and I – and maybe our cousin Mari soon – spend Monday evenings watching Adventure Time, Regular Show and discussing things that interest them.  Of all the days of the week, Monday is probably my favorite for this reason only.  When I am unable to spend that evening with them, I am bummed.  During this time, they ask me about things I like which has led to Max and Maddie at least, becoming interested in Doctor Who.  So, based on their interest, I’m creating embroidery pieces for them – starting with Max (’cause he’s the older of the siblings).

L-R: Mari, Max, and Maddie

L-R: Mari, Max, and Maddie

For Max, I am making an attempt at the TARDIS.  Behind the TARDIS, I am including the Gallifrayian glif for Disappear (at least that’s what the interwebz says it means.

Preliminary Drawing for Project Max

Preliminary Drawing for Project Max

My first run at stitching - I think it looks like the TARDIS fading

My first run at stitching – I think it looks like the TARDIS fading

Maddie will be getting Flame Princess, but more on that when it happens.

PS: For those of you who tolerate my personal ramblings on an artsy site, I want to thank you.  I’m a think out loud kind of person and for those that it bothers….I’m sorry….I guess….I just don’t like feeling I’m the only one and a lot of times I feel that way.  Yes, I understand that in a world as large as ours that’s a silly thought – that you’re the only one, but sometimes you just can’t help it….right?  There I go again, looking for solidarity with the masses…… So, thank you to those who get it (especially Dez and Sara – my partners in this venture) and tolerate my moments and to those that don’t…..ehh…..

Leave a Reply

