Knitting Camp and Yarn Church

So proud of my Errant Easel ladies! Staci has been blogging up an introspective storm and D3Z has been busy working out and being the “hostess with the most-ess.” Work has been extra busy this January but I’ve been trying to balance the (always enjoyable) science with EE-worthy pursuits.

Image

Luckily there is no judgement at Yarn Church since I was headed to the gym afterwards.

Most of my creative time in 2013 has been spent knitting and particularly a free pattern of fingerless mitts that caught my attention on Pinterest. The Swirling Gauntlets were designed by Susana IC and she has a number of free patterns on her website I am interested in trying. The traveling cables look really nice when you finally get this pattern right. It’s a quick and satisfying project I’ll probably use for some gift items this year. I’ve finished the first pair using Classic Elite Woodland Yarn that is 65% Wool and 35% Nettles. According to Classic Elite, nettles are eco-friendly because they can be grown in poor soil conditions without the use of chemicals. While I haven’t had any memorable encounters with the infamous stinging nettles, this makes sense to me because it is a type of plant that comes early to an area with disturbed earth like a plowed field. Already the mix of animal and plant fibers are wanting to felt slightly and form a nice warm fabric that will blend nicely once it’s blocked. The yarn is also lightly heathered from the different dying properties of animal and plant fiber, a property of fiber I had not really considered.

Image

Sarah is working on her Fair Isle Hat and I am casting on my second pair of wool mitts.

I took this pattern to my aunt’s annual Knitting Camp we have at her house every year in January and finished the second at our newly established Yarn Church which meets every Sunday at 11:30 at rotating coffee shops in Lexington. I loved my annual get together with my aunt which involved lots of coffee, good food, Downton Abbey, and creative projects. It’s also been a really good thing for me to have a weekly appointment to knit because I’m more motivated to work on my projects through the week so I have some progress to show by Sunday. Seeing my friends’ progress and ideas opens me up to trying new techniques and makes me think more about the process as a whole. Rebecca and I recently tried to teach a new left-handed friend to knit the left-handed way and the inherent differences really blew our minds. Luckily our exprienced lefty knitter friend Amanda was able to intercede and keep us from leading Ali further astray. All interested parties, new or experienced, are welcome at Yarn Church and we will teach you to knit or crochet depending on your interest.

Leave a Reply

