Silver Linings Playlist (April Playlist)

I love Silver Linings Playbook.  I love the movie.  I love the book.  I love the idea of silver linings – and we all need them from time to time.  After the day at work I had yesterday, I need silver linings.  Job postings that I am not qualified for….students who seem to insist on arguing/fighting/pushing…….I need a silver lining or two, and, thankfully, I have them.  Family, friends, moments, these are all my silver linings.  So, instead of the very straight forward title of April Playlist, I decided to dedicate this list to the songs that either show me, or remind me, of the silver linings in life.  I hope you enjoy!

1. Better Things – the Kinks:  This song is one of my favorites of all time.  Ray Davies, and the Kinks, have made some of the greatest songs that have ever spoken to me.  The Who, the Beatles, they are amazing bands as well, but the Kinks are just a little more nostalgic and aware of things changing which I identify with.  Really, one cannot go wrong with a Kinks song/album and I would encourage you to check them out if you haven’t already.

2. (Take Me Home) Country Roads – John Denver:  This song is one I would blast when I lived away from my family and would be driving home to see them.  Now, I live back near them and am so happy to see them on a regular basis.  Not everybody gets to go home again…not everyone wants to….but I’m happier around them than I am away.  They are my net, my heart, and how lucky am I that I get to be with them? Extremely.

3. Wishing Well – Blink 182: I LOVE Blink 182, and I’m not ashamed of it!  They are poppy, fun, rude….they are man-children, but that doesn’t mean they don’t have their moments of maturity.  Wishing Well is off one of their more recent albums and I really like how upbeat the tempo is, when the song isn’t always.  This a song that reminds me of silver linings – I don’t know why, it just does.

4. The Majestic Tale (Of a Madman in a Box) – Murray Gold: Doctor Who is my fandom of choice.  This song, I don’t know, just makes me want to get up and do something.  Ride the scooter, work outside, run! To me, it’s an excellent example of music moving you into action.  Plus….I love the Doctor (aka Matt Smith – amazing actor!) and anything that lets me think of the Doctor is a silver lining.

5. Could It Be Another Change? – The Samples:  I bought the Perks of Being a Wallflower (film) without question.  I love the book and have read, and given it away, several times.  Buying the soundtrack was a no brainer and I found this song to be a beautiful surprise.

6. Words We’re Waiting – RegularJoe: HitRecord is one of my favorite sites/ideas created  by Joseph Gordon-Levitt with some help from his friends of course.  Now, it’s no secret that I have a ginormous crush on JGL, but that’s not what makes this song awesome.  It’s a rousing pub song.  Who among us doesn’t want to be in a pub and break out into song?! (sorry about not being able to add a link…still, check it out on iTunes or hitrecord).

7. Diamond in the Coal – the 88’s: This is another song that I just love hearing.  I always take the song to me that there is beauty even in the mess, and I like to believe that because, well, I have been a mess but I truly believe that there is beauty inside of me – all of us! – but it would be nice if someone could see it.  Someone will….someone that I will see the beauty in too.

8.  Star Wars Main Theme – John Williams: Star Wars always cheers me up, inspires me, so, of course it’s going to be included on a silver linings list.  Also, this is being written on Star Wars Day!

9. Bye Bye Love – the Cars: This may not seem, at first glance, like a silver linings kind of song.  I get that.  For me, though, it reminds me of road trips, playing on the ball court, and singing as loud as I can on the Parkway.  Silver. Lining.

10. This Time Tomorrow – the Kinks: Closing out with the Kinks is the most appropriate way to end a silver lining playlist.  The Kinks are in my top three bands of all time list – alternating number one with the other two depending on my mood.  I hope you can discover how great they are.

Thanks for checking out my list.  I hope you enjoy it and maybe discover a band or two you may not have listened to before.

PS: Happy Star Wars Day!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. cryptotox
    May 05, 2013 @ 11:46:34

    Good list, Staci! I loved listening to your selection while drinking coffee on a rainy Sunday morning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

