Summer Time = Good Food

Being that I haven’t posted in a while, I have a lot to talk about, but one thing that has been more on my mind (as it always is this time of year) is food! Wait…I don’t think there is a time of year when I don’t get excited about food! Summer is an amazing time for food, especially when you have good friends and family that farm and garden, and got their crops out earlier than you and have things ready to eat! My favorite summer food; tomatoes! My husband’s family introduced me to my first garden fresh tomato, and I haven’t looked back! I don’t even buy them in the winter time, and if a salad has tomatoes on it, I push that mess to the side! I am a bit spoiled. Mama Kay Lynch has a ton of summer recipes, and one of my favorite is this tomato pasta salad she adapted from a side dish served at Lambert’s Cafe (home of the throwed rolls). Anyone touring through Missouri, or in Alabama has to stop by a Lamberts. they only have three locations, unlimited side (the tomato salad, fried okra, fried taters) and yes, they literally throw the rolls at you! Best dining experience of your life! Me and the husband are lucky enough to have family in, or close to two of the locations lambert’s has, so we have had our share! So yeah, Kay created her own version of the tomato salad, and I have to say, I like it better than Lambert’s! shhh….don’t tell! But it’s simple, and so delicious! Without further ado, here’s what you need!

-tomatoes (depending on how big the bowl, one to two medium sized ones)
-elbow macaroni
-lots of bacon
-onion
-salt and pepper to taste

get your noodles boiling, however you cook it! I oil and season the water.

cut up the bacon into small cubes ( I have those kitchen scissors that you use to cut chicken and other raw things. ) cook up until crisp

while waiting on the bacon and pasta to cook, cut up your tomatoes into cubes (you can cut the skin off first if you prefer) and cut your onion, and put it all in a big bowl.

drain and rinse your pasta in cold water, add to the bowl

add the delicious delicious bacon!

salt and pepper that mess and mix it up with a big spoon! You will prolly want to eat it straight from the bowl, I guess you can resist temptation, that’s optional of course.

So there is my first recipe for the summer! Hopefully I will be sharing a lot more as the crops come rolling in. I am still eagerly anticipating the ripening of many of my crops, in the mean time, I’m sure my fellow gardeners will keep me well stocked! So, go cook delicious food! sniff your tomatoes hard, and enjoy thier summer flavors!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. cryptotox
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 07:52:18

    Sounds delicious Dez! Can’t wait to try it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

