Random Writing Exercise – Poetry?

I’m not sure where this is coming from and, to be honest, it’s probably lame poetry (never my strong suit).  Still, I wanted to try something and this memory has been on my mind because it’s a nice one from a long time ago – nearly ten years! Crazy how time flies.
Hope you like it or, at the very least, it doesn’t make you hate my writing.
-Staci

Hot and sticky best describes
that summer night.
We held hands and gazed at the summer stars;
pulling the blanket up to hide from wandering eyes.
When you said you wanted to marry me
someday, on that spot,
my heart wanted to believe you.
My mind knew it was an empty statement, made in a moment that couldn’t last.

Promises made in the dark disappear in the silver of early morning light.
Nothing hurts quite like a broken heart, except one that doesn’t mend.
It’s taken time.
The scar is visible.
The wound is closed, only opening when torn by memory.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ClownPonders
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 13:41:37

    This is by far lame poetry, I thoroughly enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing it 🙂

    Reply

    • stacigilliam
      Jul 21, 2013 @ 14:25:29

      Thank you! I like to try different types of writing, but I always worry that I’ll be too cheesy. Oh well, maybe I’ll have to admit I am a little cheesy and embrace it. 🙂

      Reply

      • ClownPonders
        Jul 21, 2013 @ 15:40:59

        Never worry, just write 🙂 You cant go wrong with a bit of cheesiness now and again!

Leave a Reply

