It’s Thanksgiving… Why Not?!

Lately my posts, both published and still in draft form, have dealt with some topics that I feel are pretty frustrating.  By attempting to find some self-realization or come up with a solution, I have dropped into some of the darker aspects of my personality.  While I enthusiastically assure you that I am, in fact, a happy person, I have a tendency to get a tiny bit negative.  It doesn’t last for long, but it happens – especially when I’m overwhelmed/frightened/worried/etc.
Now, let’s get to the point here.  It is, indeed, the Thanksgiving holiday and it is, by far, my favorite holiday.  Growing up – and to this day – I am very aware of how fortunate I am to have the life I do.  If I get too deep into thought about it, pondering how each decision has led to this very moment, it can be a bit overwhelming.  I’m glad to say I try to remember that thankfulness each day and show that thankfullness through my actions towards others.  Doesn’t mean I don’t slip up, and, oh, how I slip up, but Thor I try.
So, on this holiday, on this forum, I would like to share what I am thankful for in this year – and always!

I am thankful for my family and the opportunity I have to live near them.  For a long time, I lived away from them and I missed an awful lot. I am also thankful that my family enjoys being together.  It seems like that is a quality that is somewhat rare.

I am thankful for my friends, or, as I like to call them, my extended family.  Whether it’s someone I’ve reconnected with from college or a new friend thrown into the mix, I am thankful that others appear to enjoy my company and allow me to be in their lives.

I am thankful for a job (first off) and, more importantly, a job where I can make a difference.  Not all of my students like me, and that is fine (means I am doing my job right?!), but there is far more evidence that I do my job correctly, and inspire learning and caring, than not.  Despite the downside to the education profession, seeing a kiddo and realize they remember something you did to help them, in some way, makes it all worthwhile .

I’m thankful for the positive attitude of those facing difficult situations.  Those friends of mine, facing illness, job loss, and any number of hard choices, inspire me daily with their positive outlook and a faith that I am humbled by. 

I am thankful for so very much, including the opportunity this blog provides.  I get to share my unfiltered thoughts which is both cathartic for me and, hopefully, helpful for others.  It’s nice knowing you are not alone.  At least, I think so.

Whatever you do for the holiday season, please take the advice of someone prone to getting a little caught up in the overwhelming: find something to be thankful for – anything!  If I listed everything I am thankful for, this post would be too long and I will cry.  Yep, I will cry.  Yet another thing I am thankful for actually.  A gift from my Dad (we’re similar in that way).

Happy Thanksgiving world! 

Leave a Reply

