Babies and Banana bread

My baby girl made her debut January 13 (via c-section after being in labor all night and day!) and life has been a whirlwind ever since! You think you’re a professional multi tasker, then your husband goes back to work, and you’re trying to make lunch and do dishes like an idiot, and baby starts to cry, because even though she dosed off for a moment, she wasn’t finished eating or burping! After about a week of torturing yourself by trying to clean and cook (I tried baking one day, big mistake!) you realize there’s no point! One day after having one of my first break downs because the dogs got my lunch after a day of not eating all day because the baby kept me busy, my mom called. This is what she had to say: sleep when the baby sleeps, and the chores will still be there when you’re ready!
So, once I started listening to my mother, life started to get a lot easier!
There was another half to my misery though; trying to produce enough milk to breast feed. Fortunately for me, I love to eat, and eating is key, and in particular, eating the right foods. So, because I don’t always have time to cook when the husband is away, I decided I would make something that would last all week, I could eat for a quick snack, and for breakfast, and would use up some spotty bananas no one wants to eat…banana bread! I couldn’t come up with a clever name, but Adam thinks lactation loaf was pretty good, but I was worried no one would want to eat it thinking it was made with some crazy voodoo!

and here it is…

Ingredients
1 C sugar
1/2 C butter
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
3 ripe bananas
1/2 C yogurt
1 1/4 C all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2 Tbs cinnamon
1/4 C ground flax seed
1/2 C oatmeal
1/2 C almonds
1/2 C chocolate chips

preheat oven 350
mix sugar, butter, vanilla, eggs, bananas, and yogurt together.
mix flour, soda, salt, cinnamon, and oats with wet ingredients
stir almonds and chocolate chips with your rubber spatula.

I use a bunt pan. My mother-in-law always did, so I started to, and I like it so much better than making a loaf. seems to last longer, and she would show hers off on the cake stand. I don’t have a cake stand…other wise I would as well!
DON’T FORGET TO SPRAY THE PAN!
Bake for an hour. The bread will pull away from the sides, and of course when you insert a knife, it will come out clean!

So, enjoy my “lactation loaf”, and, as always, if you know what I could add to make this recipe that much better, let me know!
gotta go, baby is hungry…or is she gassy…sleepy?

Leave a Reply

