My buffalo chicken tacos

IMG_4344-0.JPG

For our 1 year wedding anniversary, my husband took us (me and the baby!) out to this new Mexican restaurant we have in town called Coba Cocina. It has this beautiful fish tank, and the food is delicious! It’s a very modern take on some Mexican dish favorites. We had nachos for an apetizer; they were individually made nachos. Amazing!
My inspiration for today’s recipe came from the delicious buffalo chicken tacos I had! At Coba Cocina, they lightly fried the chicken, then covered it with delicious buffalo sauce, and topped it with a coleslaw. Since, I couldn’t fry to save my life, and I’m a busy mom, I came up with a recipe that takes 5 minutes to put together, and you let the crock pot do the rest!

Ingredients:

2 chicken breast (I used frozen, about 4-6 ounces a piece)
1 large onion roughly chopped
3 stocks celery finely chopped
3 large cloves garlic diced
1/2 Cup franks red hot
1/2 Cup blue cheese salad dressing (even the cheap gross stuff does great)
4 oz. cream cheese
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
throw everything in the crock pot, and come back in about 6 hours. Take out chicken, shred it, put it back and stir it up! Don’t forget to turn the crock pot on!

IMG_4341-0.JPG
If you have ever made the Franks RedHot buffalo cheese dip, this is based on that recipe! I cut the cream cheese in half to try to save some calories, and it taste just as good with half. Because I am counting my calories, I put this into my fitness pal, and it’s about 437 per person (this is before taco shell and toppings), and serves about 4-6. Add a little shredded cheddar, and make your favorite coleslaw! I’m still tinkering with a good slaw, so let me know if you have a good recipe for some!

Leave a Reply

